Get To Know Library Journal’s 2016 Movers & Shakers

Be inspired by Library Journal’s list of 2016 Movers & Shakers. Lots of amazing work being done!

Temple Public Library Receives Library Excellence Award

CTLS wishes to congratulate the Temple Public Library who has been awarded the 2015 Achievement of Library Excellence Award from the Texas Municipal Library Directors Association. It is the seventh consecutive year that Temple received this award.


The award was presented to library director Leigh Gardner at the Temple City Council meeting on […]

American Library Association Announces 2016 Youth Media Award Winners

From the ALA website:

BOSTON – The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults – including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards – at its Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits in Boston.

A list of all the 2016 award winners follows:


Director of Edinburg Library Receives Prestigious Mexican Award

The Director of the Dustin M. Sekula Memorial Library in Edinburg, TX, Leticia S. Leija received the prestigious Ohtli Award during a reception held at the Consulate of Mexico in McAllen. The Ohtli Award is the highest honor bestowed on a member of the Mexican or Mexican-American community. This award acknowledges and celebrates the recipient’s […]

San Marcos hosts Tomás Rivera Children’s Book Award 20th Anniversary Lit Fair

The San Marcos Public Library hosted the Tomás Rivera Children’s Book Award 20th Anniversary Children’s Literature Fair on Saturday, September 26th. There were 13 participating authors and illustrators celebrating this major milestone for the award, including Duncan Tonatiuh, 2015 winner for Separate is Never Equal. Kids from all 6 local public elementary schools and […]

Honey Grove Library Receives Many Accolades

The Bertha Voyer Memorial Library in Honey Grove, TX have recently received several exciting awards: Finalist for the Best Small Library in America for 2014 (awarded at PLA), Ebsco’s Excellence in Small/Rural Public Library Service Award

(that will be awarded at ALA) and a YALSA Teen Week Grant for our Robotics. They have also been […]

TMLDA Achievement of Excellence Awards

Three CTLS member libraries whose cities are part of the Texas Municipal League received the Texas Municipal Library Directors’ Association Achievement of Excellence Award for 2013. The libraries are: the Lena Armstrong Library (Belton: director Kim Kroll pictured above on the right), the Cedar Park Public Library (Cedar Park), and the Temple Public Library (Temple). […]

Outstanding New Librarian: Kit Coates of Cedar Park

At the 100th Annual Texas Library Association conference in Fort Worth in April, Youth Services Manager Kit Coates of the Cedar Park Public Library received the Outstanding New Librarian Award. Congratulations!

TMLDA Awards

The staff of the Cedar Park Public Library and Library Director Pauline Lam were recognized at a City Council meeting recently for receiving the Achievement of Excellence in Libraries Award from the Texas Municipal Library Directors’ Association. Other CTLS libraries receiving this award were Boerne (Library Director Kelly Skovbjerg), Edinburg (Library Director Leticia Leija), Harker […]

Bell/Whittington Library a Finalist

Congratulations to the Bell Whittington Public Library, Portland, TX and Rose Aleta Laurell, Director!

This library was named a finalist in the IMLS Best Small Library in America competition!

“Serving a population of 15,099 in a satellite community near Corpus Christi, this library does an awful lot with the $29 per capita budget at its […]