November/December Newsletter is Now Available!

Here at CTLS we have been so busy that we combined our November and December newsletters into one and you can read it here. Happy reading and stay warm this weekend!



Work Force Workshop in Waco on December 14th

The Heart of Texas Workforce Solutions is offering a workshop for librarians. The workshop is free and lunch is provided. The registration form can be found here. Contact Jose Palacios for additional information. Deadline to register is December 7th.

Jose Palacios
Project Manager
Workforce Solutions for the Heart of Texas
801 Washington Avenue, Suite 700
Waco, Texas 76701
Phone: 254-296-5383 | Fax: 254-753-3173

Special thanks to Susan Mann for passing this information along!



BBQ for Books in Lampasas

Each year on the Monday before Halloween, the Lampasas Public Library hosts a fundraising event called BBQ for Books.


The event has grown each year and this year they anticipated selling 900 meals! Their Foundation trustees go around town selling tickets and taking group orders. 10 local women organize the annual event, over 60 volunteers help make sheet cakes, and 20 volunteers work shifts the day of the event. Director in Lampasas, Shanda Subia, says, ” We could not do this without volunteers. There’s just no way. We really appreciate the community coming together to support this event every year – whether by volunteering or by buying tickets (or both!).”

Congratulations on such a successful event!




Fayette Public Library Hosts Teddy Bear Clinic

The Fayette Public Library had a Teddy Bear Clinic on November 5th. They partnered with a local medical clinic for their first Teddy Bear Clinic program at the library. Twenty seven children were in attendance. They provided crafts and read stories while children waited to see a medical professional. The local Walmart donated funds to purchase new teddy bears for all the children that attended.



More pictures from the event can be found on their Facebook page. If any of you have questions about this event, FPL staff is happy to talk with you!


New Braunfels Donor Wall

Having trouble deciding how to recognize donors? Here’s how New Braunfels does it! What an appropriate idea for donors to the


Thank you for sharing, New Braunfels!

Longtime Madisonville assistant librarian retires

Brenda Pearson, an employee of the Madison County Library for almost 29 years, retired at the end of September. She will be leaving Texas, but promises to come back and visit.  A lovely farewell party was given in her honor at the Madison County Courthouse Annex.

Shown left to right are CTLS Executive Director Laurie Mahaffey, Brenda Pearson, and Library Director Veronica Grooms. So long, Brenda!

Happy Thanksgiving

The CTLS office will be closed on Thursday, November 24 and Friday, November 25 for the Thanksgiving holiday.

We will re-open on Monday, November 28.

This is a good year to remember that Thanksgiving in the form we celebrate today was established in 1863 by Abraham Lincoln as a time to appreciate what we have as a nation, think of our lost family members, and pray to be a unified nation at peace with itself.


[A side note for the detailed, Congress formalized the date of Thanksgiving in 1941 as the 4th Thursday instead of the last Thursday. The change was serious business at the time, but today it would have been pointless.]

North Texas Showcase Next Monday, November 14 in Bedford


Last Friday we had our biggest audience to date at our Central Texas Showcase at the Georgetown Public Library! We want to thank all of our performers and exhibitors for participating and all of you that were able to attend.

Our North Texas Showcase is coming up next Monday, November 14th at the Bedford Public Library so there is still time to see the talent before you hire! This is not a repeat performance! New and different performers and exhibitors will be in attendance.

Register here and join us at the Bedford Public Library next Monday!

Central Texas Showcase this Friday!

It is almost showtime!

This is just a reminder that our Central Texas Showcase is coming up this Friday. You can register here if you haven’t already. One of our Ellison machines will be returned to us at the Showcase. If any of you are interested in borrowing it, you can take it home from there! Just let me know.

Can’t make it this Friday? No problem! We also have a North Texas Showcase coming up on November 14th at the Bedford Public Library. You can register here.

Thanks! See you there!

See the Talent Before You Hire at the CTLS Performer Showcase

Do you ever need to hire an educational, entertaining performer for a school, library, museum or community event? Our annual Performer Showcase features some of the best educational and entertaining performers and speakers for children, teens and adults. Come and see the talent before you hire!

Registration to attend Showcases is now available. Please use the links below and let me know if you have any problems.

November 14th, 2016 at the Bedford Public Library

Also, please share this information with anyone in your community that might also be responsible for planning programming or hiring such as contacts in your parks and rec department, school district, or at a local museum.

Thank you! We hope to see you all there. Please let us know if you have any questions at all.